What am I doing wrong?

TheDeadPrussian

Reaction score
Hello All,
I'm new to this whole adventure bike thing, I've ridden on and off for 30 years, but recently took delivery of an R1250 Trophy GS Adventure - and I'm struggling with the weight of it... I've never dropped a bike in my entire ridding history (which includes some heavy bikes such as a H-D Street Glide that I owned for two years and an Electra Glide I rented in the US and did 1,500 miles on), but the GSA just seems to be more of a handful. Yesterday I toppled off it (left hand side went down) at a junction. My fault of course, uneven road surface and a significant camber that made the left hand side lower than the right. No damage other than a scratch or two on the engine bars and my pride, but it's just never happened to me before. I am finding a full fuel tank makes a significant difference to the balance etc.

I've watched a large number of YouTube videos about how best to handle the bike and tips for parking etc. but the shock of actually having to lay the thing down has me worried and my ego bruised!

So is this just part of GSA ownership or am I doing this all wrong? I'm six foot tall and can comfortable flat foot the bike and I'm fit and healthy and relatively strong.

It's just a case of getting used to the GSA and the seat height/weight combo. I have a lowered GS and at 5'7" and 11 stone that's enough for me. I dropped my original GS back in 2016 with SWMBO on the back because I didn't plan decisively what I was going to do when I came to a downhill off camber junction. Being prepared by shifting your bum across the seat so you only put 1 foot down (usually your left foot so you can cover the back brake with your right foot) to give you a tripod between your leg and the 2 wheels of the bike will give you a more stable position. If you don't need a full tank of fuel don't fill it up as that will help while you get used to your new bike. Good luck 👍

Hello All,